The Bathroom

The day was productive and the bathroom is done, for now, minus a few details.  If you remember, this is where we started:

Peach walls, dirty white ceiling, miss matched light bulbs, the silver/blue net shower curtain left for us by the previous owner, gross caulk, and who knows what all over the tiles.

Well, after 2 days of scraping, painting,  and cleaning. And then a day of slacking off, I was able to finish it up today.

I picked up an inexpensive shower curtain and rings, a few new towels, and a fluffy rug at Target.  I didn’t want to spend a lot since, well, the kids use this bathroom too and things will get dirty.

Here is the vanity. Not much changed here except the matching light bulbs, the turquoise soap dispenser and toothbrush holder.  I keep forgetting that we need to pick up a new thingy (technical term) to go into the toilet paper holder so the toilet paper doesn’t have to sit on the counter.  I also want to bring some orange over to this side of the room.

Oops, you can see one of the unfinished sides of the painting.  Yes, I only finished enough sides of the canvas so that it looks done from the door.  You caught me.  But technically, only a problem if you are climbing out of the shower.

Speaking of the painting, it’s mostly done (as you can see from above).

I had a lot of fun doodling the details.

I’m happy with the way it turned out.  It adds a great pop of color in the bathroom.  And I think it turned out much better than Captain America would have.

Now I know I promised you the before and after of the chairs from the shed.  I did finish one today, but I forgot to take pictures of it.  Tomorrow, I promise, unless I forget again. Which is very possible.

Here’s the short list for this room (in no particular order):

  • fix the caulk around the bathtub  done
  • paint the ceiling  done
  • remove the gunk off the tiles around the top of the room  done
  • paint the walls (which now includes touching up the ceiling)  done
  • refinish the medicine cabinet
  • clean the grout
  • get matching lightbulbs  done
  • get a shower curtain  done
  • get accessories and art  done
  • replace the drawer handles
  • re-caulk around the base of the bathtub
  • new to us light
  • new to us mirror
  • new to us vanity
  • possibly new floor tile, one day
  • figure out if we need to have the tub reglazed or if there is a cleaning product that will get rid of the white grime in the tub
  • buy a new thingy for the toilet paper holder

So that’s where we are for now.

Leave a Reply

