Endeavour

I’ve been checking the weather, setting alarms for before dawn and scouring the internet for information for the last three days.  You might wonder what would have me this excited. History in the making on the Space Coast. Today the Space Shuttle Endeavour starts its final flight from Kennedy Space Center to The California Science Center.

The Space Shuttle Discovery made a similar trip a few months ago traveling to Northern Virginia and I missed it.  I had remembered up until a few days prior to the event and then, BAM, life happened and I forgot.  I was so disappointed that the kids and I didn’t get to see it.  Jamie was on a flight heading to DC and saw it during his flight (lucky dog).  So, when I saw that I had another chance I jumped on it.

The flight was scheduled to take off at 7:15 AM, so like any good over-achiever, I got everyone up at 6 AM, even though the beach is a 2 minute drive.  We left the house at 7:05, got to the beach at 7:07, and waited around.  I love modern technology.  We stood on the beach and watched NASA TV broadcast the takeoff on my iPhone.  It was a beautiful morning, slightly overcast, which was a blessing and a curse.  It was great for taking pictures, we didn’t have to stare into the sunrise to see it go by.  The downside was that the flight was 1,500 feet over the ocean which seemed to be right where the clouds where hanging out too.  Ok, so enough of me blabbering.  I did manage to get a few pictures:

We could see it as soon as it took off from Kennedy Space Center.  Then it disappeared into the clouds. It was a bit surreal watching it come out of the clouds.

The call sign for the “ferry” carrying Endeavour is Pluto 95 Heavy.  I don’t know why, but I found that pretty funny.  That jet looks so tiny in comparison.

Shortly after this picture was taken we all dusted the sand off of our feet, hopped back into the car and got the kids to school.  Not a bad start to the morning.  Now I can say I’ve seen one of the space shuttles leave for it’s new home.  Hopefully the kids will remember it.  A little piece of Space Coast history.

One thought on “Endeavour

Leave a Reply

