Sunflowers

I love thrifting.  It is one of my favorite hobbies.  Some days are good, some are bad.  It’s a great way to find unique items, things that I’ve been looking for, or even unexpected treasures.  It’s the thrill of the hunt.  Keeping your eyes pealed for a hidden gem.  Basically it’s the ultimate Legends of the Hidden game.  My mom has been in town for the past few months.  She is the ultimate thrifter.  She will call up every couple of weeks needing her bargain hunting fix.  This past Wednesday was a good day.

59f0cdd865a211e2bb0f22000a1fbc94_7

I found a pair of lamps for my bedroom ($25), a Viking glass vase (at least that’s what I think it is, either way I love it- $4.50), and a pretty long crewel embroidery of sunflowers ($2).  I found a few other things that will be put on Etsy.  My mom and I resell things that we find that are too amazing to pass up, but we don’t have room for in our own houses.

sunflowers1

Sunflowers have a special place in my heart.  When Jamie and I were dating he wrote me a poem about sunflowers.  It was really sweet and it doesn’t hurt that I love sunflowers too.  So when I saw this piece of fiber art I knew I had to have it.  It just needed a way to hang it.  I looked into stretcher bars for artists to use to create canvases.  It would have cost about $15 to order what I needed, but I was feeling cheap so I decided to make my own.

sunflowers2

We have a pile of left over lumber from the kitchen.  After looking through the pieces I figured I had enough to make the long sides, but nothing really to use to make the short sides.

sunflowers3

Then I noticed the leftover giant stir sticks we had gotten from Home Depot when we bought our 5 gallon buckets of paint for the house.  They were perfect.  I cut the wood to the lengths that I needed,  used wood glue and tiny little brad type nails to create a basic rectangle and let it dry over night.  Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of the frame before I started stapling it all together.

sunflowers4

Using my staple gun, I stapled the short sides first.  Then, went back and did the long sides.  I didn’t put tons of staples in.  No one would be siting on it, so I only used enough staples to hold it taught.  The corners were folded quickly and stapled down.

sunflowers5

Jamie suggested hanging it in the front hall so that it would pop against the blue.  The rest of the house is our Groovy Grey color and it just seems to disappear on those walls.  I love it.  I’ve been wanting some sort of fiber art and am thrilled that I found this one.  The great part is, if we ever find something we love more, we only have a $2 investment into this one.  Isn’t thrifting awesome?

sunflowers6

Here it is from the front porch.  I’ll have to take pictures of the rest of the front hall.  As you can tell we picked out a color.  I’d call it “almost done”.  There are a few things small that I would like to change, but those are total back burner projects (they can wait until other bigger projects, like picking colors for the stereo room and our bedroom or refinishing our front doors, are done).

So, there you have it, our $2 piece of art that is totally awesome!

Leave a Reply

